动物福利

animal-hero.jpg

我们不会在制造化妆品或个人护理产品时在动物身上测试产品或成分

Johnson & Johnson关注动物的安康,因此我们的Consumer Health业务部门不会在化妆品研发中进行动物测试。安全是我们的第一要务,我们认为,化妆品和个人护理产品可以在不损害动物福利的前提下被验证为安全有效。我们从数十年前就承诺解决此问题,当时Johnson & Johnson科学家率先取代了动物眼睛刺激性测试,这最终促成了JOHNSON'S® NO MORE TEARS®洗发露的诞生。

我们正在加大科教和宣传力度,以消除全球范围内的化妆品动物测试

遗憾的是,某些国家仍然要求提供动物测试数据用于审批新的化妆品销售,为此我们积极与研究和倡导组织合作,以推进替代测试方法。全世界大多数政府监管机构都承认化妆品非动物测试数据的有效性;但是,一些人仍然认为动物试验是安全性的有力证明。在这些情况下,我们与世界各地的立法者、政策制定者、科学和行业组织合作,以推广化妆品动物测试的替代方案以及减少或消除此类动物测试的公共政策。例如:

  • 过去的21年间,1,000多名科学家和监管人员接受了体外科学研究所(IIVS)的培训,这个不使用动物进行安全测试的实验室专为全球各地的专业人士提供非动物测试方法的培训,Johnson & Johnson是体外科学研究所的赞助商。仅在过去的5年内,就有超过200位中国科学家参与其中。
  • Johnson & Johnson长期为约翰霍普金斯大学动物测试替代研究中心 (CAAT) 提供支持,该研究中心肩负着类似的使命:建立和验证有效的动物测试替代方法,并提供有关这些方法的培训。
  • Johnson & Johnson是欧洲动物测试替代方法合作组织(EPAA)的成员。

我们正在取得进展,发挥先锋示范作用

令人欣慰的是,我们为消除化妆品动物测试的做法正在奏效,我们对最近的监管改革深感鼓舞,并继续倡导在全球范围内接受非动物数据。具体而言,最近在中国实施的改革大大减少了需要进行动物测试的化妆品类别。此外,Johnson & Johnson Consumer Health在制定行业原则方面发挥了重要作用,以告知全球范围内针对化妆品动物测试的立法禁令。这些都是重要的进展;但是,我们要做的工作还有很多。我们致力于为解决这个问题作出贡献。

Skip to main content

You are here

We do not test products or ingredients in the creation of our cosmetics or personal care products

Johnson & Johnson cares about the wellbeing of animals and consequently our Consumer Health business does not conduct animal testing in the research or development of our cosmetic products. Safety is our first priority and we believe that cosmetics and personal care products can be validated as safe and effective without compromising animal welfare. Our commitment to this issue dates back decades, to when Johnson & Johnson’s scientists were among the first to replace animal eye irritancy testing, which ultimately led to the creation of our JOHNSON'S® NO MORE TEARS® shampoo.

We are investing in scientific and advocacy efforts to eliminate cosmetic animal testing around the world

Unfortunately, some countries still require animal testing data to approve new cosmetic products for sale, which is why we actively partner with research and advocacy organizations to advance alternative testing methods. Most government regulators around the world accept the validity of non-animal testing data for cosmetics; however, some continue to consider animal testing to be a superior and necessary demonstration of safety. In these instances, we work with legislators, policy makers, scientific and industry organizations around the world to gain wider acceptance of alternatives to cosmetic animal testing and public policy that reduces or eliminates such animal testing altogether. For example:

  • Over the last 21 years, more than 1,000 scientists and regulators have been trained by the Institute for In Vitro Sciences (IIVS), an animal-free safety testing laboratory that trains professionals globally on non-animal testing methods, and of which Johnson & Johnson is a charter sponsor. This includes more than 200 Chinese scientists in the last 5 years alone.

  • Johnson & Johnson is a long-standing supporter of the Johns Hopkins Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing (CAAT) which has a similar mission: to create and validate alternatives to animal testing and provide education on these methods.

  • Johnson & Johnson is a member of The European Partnership for Alternative Approaches to Animal Testing (EPAA).

Progress is being made, and we’re helping lead the way

The good news is that efforts to eliminate cosmetic animal testing are making a difference. We are encouraged by recent regulatory reforms and continue to advocate for the acceptance of non-animal data for cosmetics globally. Specifically, reforms recently introduced in China significantly reduce the category of cosmetic products for which animal testing is required. Additionally, Johnson & Johnson Consumer Health has been instrumental in the development of industry principles to inform legislative bans on cosmetic animal testing globally. These are important developments; however, there is more work to be done. We are committed to being part of the solution.